This past weekend was Orycon 38, a Science Fiction and Fantasy convention held in Portland, Oregon. I was extremely lucky to be able to attend for the first time this year and I feel that I learned a great deal. Between the panels, visiting with the guests, and the overall atmosphere, I feel invigorated and ready to get back into writing.

It’s only in the last couple of years that I’ve started attending conventions. The first couple of conventions were Comic Conventions, such as Rose City Comic Con and Wizards World. Most of those are about big name actors or writers, such as Stan Lee, and the worlds that have been presented in big media. I had a great time at those. However, I feel that this much smaller convention has had a greater impact upon me.

For those of you curious about the convention, you can learn more here:  http://38.orycon.org/

Anyway, this year, the guest of honor was one of my favorites: David Weber. He’s written a bunch of stuff that I’m not going to take the time to write about now. The important part is that he was there to talk, to greet the fans, and helped inspire me to get back into writing. Getting to spend some time talking to him between panels helped me recapture the passion I have for writing. Especially considering the amount of writing the man does.

Between meeting him and Timothy Zahn, I got to talk to two of my favorite authors about their feelings on writing, I got to see and feel their passion for the art, and I got to share my own passion. I could see how much their worlds meant to them.

The various panels on writing, self publishing, podcasting, and various other panels that I was able to attend helped me to put things back into focus for writing. I’m excited to take everything that I learned and begin applying it to my own writing. More importantly, I’m excited to get back to writing on a more regular basis again!

