I’ve always believed that I could do anything, if I just set my mind to it. For the most part, that remains a true belief. However, of late I’ve had to accept that there are some things I cannot do if I’m to give other things the priority they deserve.

For those that aren’t aware, I’m a stay at home father. Partially due to choice, partially due to medical reasons. Either way, I get to enjoy the task of staying home, taking care of the family and the house. For the most part, I enjoy the domestic existence. It has allowed me to spend more time with the family and allowed me to focus more attention on my writing.

However, I’ve noticed that I haven’t been able to give the kids the same amount of attention as I used to when I wasn’t writing as much. I’ve had to move my time tables around a lot and make sure that I’m off the computer during the day so that I can help kids with homework, or reading, or other projects.

This has cut my writing time in half, forcing me into night time writing. However, night time is what I get to spend quality time with the wife, so that has cut into my writing time as well.

What does this all mean? It means that I have to let my writing calm down for the month. I’ve already missed several days for my daily dreams. I’m not able to play catchup at this time. However, now that I’ve made the decision to step back from writing for a bit until my youngest starts preschool at the end of the month, I can make accommodations for my missing writing.

My daily dreams will have the cliff-notes version written down in my ever present notebooks. My notes for Entyl will also stick to notebooks for awhile. When I get those precious few hours to do my writing, I’ll work on several dreams at once and get them all released. Same with the stories for the races of Entyl.

When the end of the month rolls around and all the children are in school, I’ll have those precious day hours back in which I can focus on my writing again. Until then, I’ll have to make due.

I want to thank those who continue to support me, who enjoy my writing, and who encourage me to continue.

Thank you, and I look forward to returning to full time writing in a couple of weeks.

