I do a lot of research when I’m doing my writing for my games. I want to make sure that the stories I write are relevant to both the game itself and to the audience. This means playing games and seeing how the stories play out in those game, watching videos about the games I can’t play due to cost, and reading reviews on other games that don’t have videos.

Another great resource I use in researching and understanding games and writing for games is a youtube channel called Extra Credit. They have a ton of great videos on understanding games, on the design, on the development side, handling scale, just to name a few.

Their latest video really helps me understand what I’m trying to accomplish with my writing. It’s all about Understanding the Fantasy. I felt that this was a great video for understanding the hows and whys for writing for video games or games in general and wanted to share it with you all.

You can check out the video here:

 

